About Us Awards Luncheon Publications Corporate Advisory Team Health Resources Join JIWH
Home GO
Major Initiatives
Maternal Health Care: Expecting Something Better
Cardiovascular Disease
Managed Care
Quality of Care
Health Disparities
Plant-Made Pharmaceuticals
Heart Disease
Depression and Pregnancy
Women's Health Data Book
State Profiles


Jacobs Institute of Women’s Health
409 12th Street, SW
Washington, DC 20024-2188
Phone: (202) 863-4990
Fax: (202) 488-4229


Events > 2002 Excellence Awards

Each year the Jacobs Institute of Women's Health honors outstanding individuals for their achievements in women's health at our Excellence in Women's Health Awards Luncheon. This year's luncheon was held on May 16, 2002 at the historic Decatur House in Washington, DC.  This year's honorees include:

Howard W. Jones, Jr., MD, and Georgeanna Seegar Jones, MD

The Drs. Jones are the first joint recipients of the Lifetime Achievement Award. Together they established the United States' first in vitro fertilization program, the Jones Institute for Reproductive Medicine at the Eastern Virginia Medical School in Norfolk, VA. The Institute's first patient delivered a healthy female infant in December 1981. Both doctors received their medical degrees at Johns Hopkins University and served as professors in Hopkins' Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology until 1978. At Hopkins, Dr. Howard Jones was secretary general of the Program for International Education, and Dr. Georgeanna Jones was director of the Laboratory of Reproductive Physiology and gynecologist-in-charge of the hospital's Gynecological Endocrine Clinic. They also maintained a private practice together. Both hold the status of professor emeritus in the departments of obstetrics and gynecology at both Johns Hopkins University and Eastern Virginia Medical School. Individually and together, both have received numerous honors.

Dr. Howard W. Jones, Jr accepting the Lifetime Achievement
Award from Dr. Warren Pearse on behalf of him and his wife,
Dr. Georgeanna Seegar Jones who could not attend the

Donna Lopiano, PhD

Dr. Lopiano, executive director of the Women's Sports Foundation (WSF), has earned recognition for her efforts to help girls and women achieve lifelong health benefits by being physically active. Under her guidance, the WSF has published research showing positive links between participation in sports and adolescent health, including teen pregnancy rates. Dr. Lopiano is also an exceptional role model: as an athlete, she participated in 26 national championships in four sports and was a nine-time All-American in softball. She has coached college men's and women's volleyball, women's basketball, and women's softball. She is a member of the National Sports Hall of Fame, the National Softball Hall of Fame, and the Texas Women's Hall of Fame, among others, and is currently a member of the United States Olympic Committee's Executive Board. The WSF works to ensure equal access to participation and leadership opportunities for all girls and women in sports and fitness through grants, education, and advocacy.

Donna Lopiano receiveing her Excellence in Women's
Health Award from Siri Mullinex, goal keeper of the
Washington Freedom soccer team and Martha Romans,
executive director of the Jacobs Institute.

Physicians for Human Rights

Physicians for Human Rights (PHR) investigates and exposes violations of human rights worldwide and educates health professionals about human rights issues. PHR is a leading advocate for women's human rights, improved physical and mental health programs for women, and equitable employment and education opportunities worldwide. PHR shared the 1997 Nobel Peace Prize as a founding member of the International Campaign to Ban Landmines. The group's reports "The Taliban's War On Women" and "Women's Health and Human Rights in Afghanistan" documented the effects of Taliban policies on women's health in Afghanistan. They are the foundation for PHR's advocacy for international commitment to women's health and human rights in the new Afghanistan. PHR's new campaign, HealthAction AIDS, looks at discrimination against women in AIDS treatment and prevention efforts.

Nikki Heidepriem, JD, President of the Jacobs Institue,
Lynn Amowitz, MD and Len Rubenstein, JD from Physicians
for Human Rights, and Martha Romans, executive director
of the Jacobs Institute.

Read the related story about our luncheon and the honorees in our newsletter, In Touch

 Women's Health Issues  Women's Health & Policy Updates  News  Support Women's Health  Events

About Us | Awards Luncheon | Publications | Corporate Advisory Team | Health Resources | Join JIWH | Site Map