About Us Publications In the News Health Resources Support JIWH
Home GO
Major Initiatives
The Health of Incarcerated Women
Expecting Something Better: A Conference to Optimize Maternal Health Care
Cardiovascular Disease
Managed Care
Quality of Care
Health Disparities
Roundtable Discussion on Women's Health
Hormone Therapy and Communication
Abnormal Uterine Bleeding
New Directions in Women's Health
Heart Disease
Depression and Pregnancy
HPV Vaccine: Recommendation or Mandate?
Women's Health Data Book
State Profiles


Jacobs Institute of Women's Health
Milken Institute School of Public Health
The George Washington University
950 New Hampshire Ave., NW, 6th Floor
Washington, DC  20052
Liz Borkowski, MPH
Managing Director


> 2003

Leading Champions of Women's Health
Honored at Gala Luncheon

The Jacobs Institute of Women's Health presented its prestigious Excellence in Women's Health Awards to outstanding leaders at its annual luncheon on May 8, 2003 at the Hotel Monaco.  This year's honorees were:

Warren H. Pearse Lifetime

The Honorable Barbara A. Mikulski
U.S. Senator

Excellence in Women's Health Awards

Wanda K. Jones, DrPH
Deputy Assistant Secretary for Health
Director, Office on Women's Health, HHS

Anne F. Foster-Rosales, MD, MPH, FACOG
Assistant Professor
University of California, San Francisco

Corporate Philanthropy Award


"Each of these honorees is a true champion for women's health and has made unparalleled contributions to improving women's health care. They have pursued their goals through crafting public policy, creating health care models, conducting research, training doctors and funding innovative projects and programs."  

Senator Mikulski received the Lifetime Achievement Award for championing measures to improve women's health. Her long list of successes include passing regulations to improve the way clinical laboratories handle Pap smears, and helping to create the Mammography Quality Standards Act and establish the Office of Research on Women's Health of the National Institutes of Health.

Emmy Award-winning television anchor Kathleen Matthews of WJLA-TV, presented the Excellence in Women's Health Awards to Dr. Wanda Jones and Dr. Anne Foster-Rosales for their achievements in the field of women's health and their ongoing work to advance women's health care.

Dr. Wanda K. Jones, DrPH, Director of the Office on Women's Health of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services received her award for directing programs to bring better health care to women of color and women in communities not traditionally considered epicenters of health care. Under her direction, the Office on Women's Health has created innovative tools and programs that promote prevention.

Anne F. Foster-Rosales, MD, MPH, FACOG, Assistant Clinical Professor at the University of California, San Francisco also received an Excellence in Women's Health Award. A pioneer in women's reproductive health, Dr. Foster-Rosales works in the U.S. and around the world to improve the health of women and babies through better family planning services and obstetrical health care. Dr. Foster-Rosales is currently working to train doctors in Central America.

Matthews also presented the Jacobs Institute's first-ever Corporate Philanthropy Award to CIGNA HealthCare for its dedicated and generous support of women's health initiatives to improve health care for women and infants, identify solutions to reduce health disparities, and determine the best ways to measure quality of care in our nation's health plans.

Dr. Allen Schaffer, Senior Vice President and Chief
Medical Officer, accepts the Corporate Philanthropy Award
on behalf of CIGNA HealthCare from Kathleen Matthews.

The Jacobs Institute would like to thank our sponsors for their continued support at our Excellence in Women's Health Awards Luncheon.

 Women's Health Issues  Women's Health & Policy Updates  News  Support Women's Health  Events

About Us | Publications | In the News | Health Resources | Support JIWH | Site Map