About Us Awards Luncheon Publications In the News Health Resources Support JIWH
Home GO
Major Initiatives
The Health of Incarcerated Women
Expecting Something Better: A Conference to Optimize Maternal Health Care
Cardiovascular Disease
Managed Care
Quality of Care
Health Disparities
Roundtable Discussion on Women's Health
Hormone Therapy and Communication
Abnormal Uterine Bleeding
New Directions in Women's Health
Heart Disease
Depression and Pregnancy
HPV Vaccine: Recommendation or Mandate?
Women's Health Data Book
State Profiles


Jacobs Institute of Women's Health
The George Washington University School of Public Health and Health Services
2021 K Street, NW, Suite 800
Washington, DC 20006
D. Richard Mauery, MS, MPH
Managing Director


Women's Health Issues > Gibbs Leadership Prize

Gibbs Leadership Prize Announcement: Best Manuscript of 2012

The Editorial Board of Women’s Health Issues is pleased to announce that the Charles E. Gibbs Leadership Prize for the best paper published in Women's Health Issues in 2012 (Volume 22) has been awarded to Nathan L. Hale, PhD, Research Assistant Professor, Department of Health Services Policy and Management, Arnold School of Public Health, University of South Carolina.  Dr. Hale’s manuscript, “Postpartum Screening for Diabetes among Medicaid-Eligible South Carolina Women with Gestational Diabetes,” was co-authored by Janice C. Probst, PhD, Jihong Liu, ScD, Amy Brock Martin, DrPH, Kevin J. Bennett, PhD, and Saundra Glover, PhD.  The manuscript was published in Women's Health Issues Volume 22, Issue 2 (March/April 2012), pages e163–e169.  The study pointed out that while Medicaid provides health insurance for many women, coverage typically ends at 60 days postpartum and leaves “a narrow window of opportunity for postpartum screening.” Extending the period of coverage could ensure improved postpartum care, including screening for diabetes.

The Charles E. Gibbs Leadership Prize is awarded annually to recognize excellence in research on women's health care or policy.  Priority is given to manuscripts that report the results of original research and that improve understanding of an important women's health issue.  Members of the staff and Editorial Board of Women's Health Issues are not eligible.  The prize includes a $1,000 award.

The Editorial Board also designated three excellent manuscripts in 2012 to receive “Honorable Mention:”

  •  “Comparison of Labor and Delivery Care Provided by Certified Nurse-Midwives and Physicians: A Systematic Review, 1990 to 2008,” by Meg Johantgen, PhD, RN, Lily Fountain, MS, CNM, RN, George Zangaro, PhD, RN, Robin Newhouse, PhD, RN, NEA-BC, Julie Stanik-Hutt, PhD, ACNP, CCNS, FAAN, and Kathleen White, PhD, RN, NEA-BC, FAAN.   Published in Volume 22, Issue 1 (January/February), pages e73–e81.
  •  “Attempts at Weight Loss in U.S. Women with and without a History of Gestational Diabetes Mellitus,” by Jodie Katon, PhD, Charles Maynard, PhD, and Gayle Reiber, PhD.  Published in Volume 22, Issue 5 (September/October), pages e447–e453.
  •  “National Trends in Health Insurance Coverage of Pregnant and Reproductive-Age Women, 2000 to 2009,” by Katy Backes Kozhimannil, PhD, MPA, Jean M. Abraham, PhD, and Beth A. Virnig, PhD, MPH.  Published in Volume 22, Issue 2 (March/April 2012), pages e135–e141.

Free full-text PDFs of all four of these articles (and past winners) can be downloaded by clicking on the links at the bottom of this screen.

Previous winners of the Gibbs Prize include:

Jacqueline L. Angel, PhD (2011)

Diana Greene Foster, PhD (2010)

Paula Lantz, PhD (2009)

Sherry Glied, PhD (2008)

Richard C. Lindrooth, PhD (2007)

Joan S. Tucker, PhD (2006)

JiWon R. Lee, MS, RD, MPH (2005)

Dawn M. Upchurch, PhD (2004)

Sherry L. Grace, PhD (2003)

Sarah Hudson Scholle, DrPH (2002)

Sandra K. Pope, PhD (2001)

Ilene Hyman, PhD (2000)

Usha Sambamaoorthi, PhD (1999)

Claire Murphy, MD (1997)

Barbara A. Bartman, MD, MPH (1996)

The Charles E. Gibbs Leadership Prize was established to honor the founding President of the Board of Governors of the Jacobs Institute of Women Health. . Charles E. Gibbs, MD (1923-2000) was a Fellow of the American Congress of Obstetricians and Gynecologists (ACOG) and past chair of ACOG’s Committee on Health Care for Underserved Women, the Task Force on the Voluntary Review of Quality of Care, the Health Care Commission, and the Task Force on Maternal Health Policy.  Dr. Gibbs served on the Jacobs Institute of Women Health Board of Governors from 1990-1999 and was instrumental in shaping the Institute’s mission and structure.

Hale et al - Gibbs Prize, 2012

Johantgen et al - Honorable Mention, 2012

Katon et al - Honorable Mention, 2012

Kozhimannil et al - Honorable Mention, 2012

Angel et al - Gibbs Prize 2011

Humphreys et al - Honorable Mention 2011

Prickett & Angel - Honorable Mention 2011

Foster et al Gibbs Prize 2010

Perkins et al Honorable Mention 2010

Smith et al Honorable Mention 2010

Lantz Article - Gibbs Prize 2009

 Women's Health Issues  Women's Health & Policy Updates  News  Support Women's Health  Events

About Us | Awards Luncheon | Publications | In the News | Health Resources | Support JIWH | Site Map